“Summer Eden” by Dawn Pisturino

“Summer Eden” is from Dawn’s stunning new poetry collection, Ariel’s Song
O, would the gaiety of summer last forever,
I would lie content in the summer sun,
Lazing away the hours in pleasant dreams,
Drifting, ever drifting, into nothingness;
And I would not weep for lost tomorrows
Or mourn the passing of yesterdays,
For blue skies are forever,
Timeless, changeless,infinite;
And I would not weep for the passing of love,
For love is a flighty thing,
Lofty and intangible,
And difficult to possess;
But give me a whole wide world of bright todays,
And I will be happy!
Give me the sun at my back
And the earth at my feet,
And I will not cry,
For these things are beautiful
And easy to touch.
Let me live my life in the Eden
Of God's creation --
I will be content to die.

Copyright © 2024 Dawn Pisturino
All Rights Reserved

Book Blurb

The Ebook for Ariel’s Song: Published Poems, 1987 -2023 is available on Amazon Kindle. The Ebook is also widely available on Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and other places. The paperback is available in the Lulu Bookstore, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.


Dawn Pisturino is a retired nurse in Arizona whose international publishing credits include poems, short stories, and articles. Her poetry has appeared in several anthologies, most recently in Hidden in Childhood: A Poetry Anthology, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women, and the 2023 Arizona Literary Magazine. She is a Mystery Writers of America and Arizona Authors Association member.

Submit to MasticadoresUSA and subscribe for more great reads! 

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely! When we don’t ask for much, there is so much to be content with.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much, Barbara, for publishing my poem, “Summer Eden,” and sharing my book with your readers. I am touched by your kindness and support. I will get this up on my blog ASAP. One correction: the link for the Amazon paperback is: https://a.co/d/i8OoaWP

    Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Meelosmom says:

      Thank you for the correction! I’ll make that change.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Thank you, Barbara! It’s correct now.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. What a beautiful poem, Dawn, Congratulations. I could linger here with you all day as well. I Love it.🥰

    Liked by 3 people

    1. LOL! Thank you, Cindy, it is a lovely thought!

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Indeed, someday when we are lazing around, I’ll meet you there💕

        Liked by 3 people

  4. So many good lines here. Well done.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Meelosmom says:

    I wish your book great success, Dawn! 👏🍾🙏🌹

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Barbara, I appreciate that very much!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. A lovely and uplifting poem by Dawn.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, Robbie!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Mike U. says:

    Wonderful poetry, Dawn, with beautiful imagery and sentiments. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  8. That is a great excerpt but there are so many other beautiful, heartfelt and gripping poems in the book. It is a wonderful book of poetry that I highly recommend.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I’m going to hire you as my PR man, Thomas! I appreciate your kindness very much.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. I love the feeling of freedom this poem gave me when I read it!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. That’s what freedom should be, in my opinion – complete freedom! Thank you, Liz!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re welcome, Dawn!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. jonicaggiano says:

    This is so beautifully written Dawn your book is filled with gorgeous work and so much description, love, nature and memories. You are an amazing poet and your book is excellent. I will certainly try to do the review by the end of the week, but don’t expect a review like Barbara or Myriam. 

    You know I have often wondered if the connection as husband and wife or family will be the same in heaven and I don’t know that it will be, I think there will be such an overwhelming sense of love and light and no more pain of any kind. Truly I believe we will see each other if we want to or thank of the other person but there have been so many people in our lives that I am not sure what it will be like except complete and perfect surrender to light. Big hugs and love Dawn! Thank you Barbara for sharing Dawn’s beautiful work! Hugs, Joni

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Meelosmom says:

      It’s my pleasure to feature Dawn’s book. ♥️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. jonicaggiano says:

        Thank you Barbara such a wonderful writer and you always do such a delightful job, how wonderful. 🙏

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Meelosmom says:

        Thank you, Joni!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Adelheid says:

    The feeling of contentment! Love this, Dawn!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Such a gorgeous poem. It is so easy to feel happy and carefree living within a summer moment. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment